Decide from the beginning if you want to have PAID submission or Membership Packages.
Decide from the beginning what are the free membership listings included and number of featured included. Each new account gets a free MEMBERSHIP at registration, with free listings included and free featured listings set by Admin. If you change this limit, change applies for NEW accounts (not old ones)
Changing options on the way, after your users have already registered and sent listings, is not recommended. Old accounts will have to be manually edited.
Membership allows users to “rent” display space on your site for their published properties. It’s a fee to have x number of listings published on your website for a certain time (x number = is the number of listings allowed in the active membership package). Multiple purchases DO NOT SUM listings. Please read below more.
Create My Subscription page:
Set Free Membership options:
From Theme Options – Membership & Payment settings:
Free Listing expiration considers the publish date + the number of days set in admin. User will ne informed about every free listing expired via email.
Free listing expiration date shows in My Listing pages for each property:
Set Membership Packages:
A Paid Membership package includes: Name, payment cycle (day, week, month or year), payment cycle value (x days, x weeks and so on), listings included, featured listings included (deduct from total listings), package price and option to display package or not to user dashboard.
Set Payment Options:
How to buy a package. How to upgrade a package. How to downgrade a package.
Users see all packages in User Dashboard.
From the same menu users buy their first package, upgrade or downgrade their purchased package
Recurring checkbox is optional. It applies for PayPal or Stripe payments ONLY. It means the payment will be taken automatically from client account when package expiration date is reached.
If payment fails when done through PayPal or Stripe, user will continue to have Free Membership by default (if it’s the 1st purchase) or they will be downgraded to free membership if it’s a recurring payment that failed to be processed.
When users buy or upgrage to a paid package, they will receive the number of listings included in the package purchased. Listings do not sum.
If users have already published a x number of properties, those properties will be automatically deducted from number of available listings after buying or upgrading the package with more listings included.
If user deletes a property, that property is still counted as listing used, so the number of listings included will not change after delete.
Users CANNOT have 2 packages at the same time.
When user upgrades to a new package, that new package limits will start to apply from the moment of the purchase, even if the user had x days/weeks/months/years from previous membership.
If users downgrades to a package with less listings than his current number of published listings, ALL his listings will be set to EXPIRED and they will have to be resent for approval. User CANNOT send to resubmit more listings than his current package allows him to.
If user has Published and Expired listings, and decide to upgrade/downgrade his membership package – in case the published properties mach the number of included listings in new package (it’s a smaller or equal number), the published properties stay published. Expired listings stay expired.
How to make a property featured
A property is set as featured from My Properties:
Once the user selects the property to be featured – the number of featured listings included is updated.
Only admin can un-mark a property as featured and give the user manually another featured listing to use. The user cannot do that from his dashboard.
How to cancel a package.
An one time payment will automatically be cancelled by Stripe or PayPal at the end of package availability.
A recurring Stripe payment can be cancelled from theme user dashboard. The package will expire at the end of package availability and it will not be renewed automatically.
A recurring PayPal subscription can be cancelled only in user PayPal account. The package will expire at the end of package availability and it will not be renewed automatically.
IF PAYPAL OR STRYPE PAYMENT FAILS
If user’s package expires because he didn’t renew or he doesn’t have money, the package returns to FREE MEMBERSHIP by default.
All listings will have status EXPIRED (expired listings won’t show in listings) if:
a. users package has reached the available date and user has not purchased a new package
b. user has chosen to have his package renewed every x days/weeks/months/years but the recurring option didn’t go through because payment failed (usually it means no money in user account)
c. user downgrades his package to a package with less included listings than the number of listings he has published .
User is able to re-submit only the number of listings allowed by his current package.